Annie Gives Book Recommendations: If You Liked This, Read This

books recs

There’s nothing I love more than a good book recommendation, so today I’m going to share some of my most common book recommendations based on books that seem to be pretty popular right now in a “if you liked this, read this” format.

Without further ado, here are some books that I think you’ll enjoy:

If you liked Everything, Everything, read It’s Kind of a Funny Story.

There’s a common thread here: I loved Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon and I loved It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini.  What is so charming about both of these books is that they deal with heavy subjects and talk about illness-related topics, but the books overall feel airy and refreshing.  It’s Kind of a Funny Story is a story about Craig, a hardworking teenager who checks himself into a psych ward after a suicidal episode, and his five day stay there.  This book is full of interesting characters and bittersweet honesty about suicide and the complexity behind it.  You can get a copy for yourself here.

If you liked The Fault in Our Stars, read The Opposite of Loneliness.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green reminds me so much of The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan not in format (The Fault in Our Stars is a novel while The Opposite of Loneliness is a compilation of short stories and essays) or content, but in how each book made me feel.  Green and Keegan, whose book was published posthumously after her tragic death at the age of twenty-two, write with the same sense of honesty and observation.  They both seem to expose the quirks of humanity, the chinks in our armor with their writing.  It’s pure magic.  You can get a copy of Keegan’s fabulous book here.

If you liked Thirteen Reasons Why, read The History Of Love.

I love this book.  I love this book.  I love this book.  The History of Love by Nicole Krauss was the first required read at school that I liked.  Ever.  The History of Love is a story told from four unique narrators, including the bitterly reflective Leo Gursky and the young and curious Alma Singer.  This is a story about how and why their lives are intertwined even though they have never met and it’s beautiful.  It’s so complex and intricate that, midway through reading, my friends and I had to create a character web that took up an entire wall of whiteboard.  You can get a copy here (and I totally recommend that you do).

That’s all!  Have you read any of these books?  Let me know what you thought in the comments and be sure to check out Annie Likes Words on Twitter, Pinterest, Goodreads, Wattpad, and Spotify

signature

14 thoughts on “Annie Gives Book Recommendations: If You Liked This, Read This

  1. Katherine LeClair says:

    I picked up The History of Love because of all you AP Lang students that raved about it… and I do not regret that decision one bit. One of my favorite books I’ve ever read. It’s simply art!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Noriko says:

    Aww, your post made me wanna read It’s Kind of a Funny Story again… I read a few years ago and yes, I enjoyed it. I wanna pick it up again and see what I feel now. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s